TH Köln

Master Digital Sciences

Documents for Study Program Accreditation

News

Video on the info event "Digital Sciences" from 7 April 2022

For those who unfortunately could not make it to the info event on April 7 2022: There is a video recording of the event available on YouTube.

Information Event for Master's Program "Digital Sciences” on 07. April 2022 for National and International Applicants

The Master program Digital Sciences at the TH Köln offers a diverse range of courses in the disciplines of Computer Science, Information Science and Data Science. It gives a flexible and highly customizable program in three or four semesters, depending on the student’s prerequisites. On 7. April 2022 at 16:00 there will be an information event for potential applicants via Zoom: https://th-koeln.zoom.us/j/3741374320, meeting ID: 374 137 4320, password: 4711. More information on the study program and the event can be found at TH-Köln-Seite, at LinkedIn or at Xing.

Semester Orientation Meeting on 24.03.2022, 16:00

On Thursday, 24.03.2022 from 16:00 to ca. 17:15, there will be an online semester orientation meeting: (Zoom-Link). No registration needed.   ... read more »

Show all news »

Brief description of the study program

The study program Digital Sciences is offered cooperatively by the Faculties of Computer Science and Engineering, and Information and Communication Sciences at the TH Köln and offers a diverse range of courses in the disciplines of Computer Science, Information Science and Data Science giving a flexible and highly customizable master’s program (Master of Science degree). It leads to a degree in three or four semesters, depending on the student’s prerequisites.

The Master’s program is designed for students who wish to build on a completed Bachelor’s degree from one of the above-mentioned disciplines (e.g. Computer Science, Business Information Systems, Media Information Systems, IT Management, Code & Context, Data and Information Science, etc.). It is designed to address individual student goals, support tailored personalized learning paths, and create space for interdisciplinary and agile learning projects as well as appropriate didactic-methodological approaches across disciplinary and faculty boundaries. Large parts of the study program can be completed in English due to a broad range of English-language modules. Therefore, the study program is opened up to international students.

The current module manual (as PDF version, in German) can be downloaded here. Further information can be found on the TH Köln website: https://th-koeln.de/studium/digital-sciences-master_83002.php.

Four fields of study

The study program Digital Sciences is offered cooperatively by the Faculty of “Computer Science and Engineering” (F10) and the Faculty of “Information and Communication Sciences” (F03) and is international, seminar-based and strongly project-oriented. The master’s program includes four fields of study.

Graduates of the Digital Sciences program are qualified for management and leadership tasks at the interface between technology and application. In relation to the fields of study, these are the following focal points.

Business Information Systems (BIS)

The field of study prepares students to take on bridging functions at the interface between business and information technology. In particular, this includes the ability to develop a deep understanding of the business activities of a company, to penetrate economic fields of action and to derive requirements for IT as well as potentials of digitization in order to contribute to the success of the company through their implementation.

A detailed description of the field of study can be found at the URL https://digital-sciences.de/en/studyprograms/business-information-systems/.

Data and Information Science (DIS)

The field of study aims at generating and making available knowledge gained from data and information. Graduates work in companies that depend heavily on the generation of business-relevant knowledge, e.g. from web data, e.g. digital information platforms, online merchants, social networks, online media, etc. Also a use in research or in the facilities of research infrastructures (e.g. scientific libraries, Leibniz institutes, etc.) is conceivable due to the high proportion of research-centered modules.

A detailed description of the field of study can be found at the URL https://digital-sciences.de/en/studyprograms/data-and-information-science/.

IT Management (ITM)

The field of study builds on broad knowledge and skills in operational IT management and focuses on strategic IT management. From this perspective, the tasks of setting up, operating and further developing IT are considered. Effectiveness, efficiency and security on the one hand, as well as the design of IT in line with requirements and the support of digital transformation are always in focus. The ability to explore new IT deployment scenarios and technologies and to assume management and budget responsibility are also part of this.

A detailed description of the field of study can be found at the URL https://digital-sciences.de/en/studyprograms/it-management/.

Software Architecture (SAR)

The field of study teaches software engineering oriented towards large and complex systems, which understands IT as a socio-technical system and pays particular attention to people and their ways of thinking and acting when creating software systems. It reflects the growing importance of software for innovative digital products and services in our society by enabling graduates to design and implement complex software systems in the context of social, technological and economic conditions.

A detailed description of the field of study can be found at the URL https://digital-sciences.de/en/studyprograms/software-architecture/.

Six Focus Areas

Six focus areas serve as an integrative framework, corresponding to the perspectives of Technology, application and social-cultural impact are defined as follows:

TH Köln

Master Digital Sciences

Dokumente zur Akkreditierung des Studiengangs

Aktuelles

Video zur Informationsveranstaltung Masterstudiengang "Digital Sciences" vom 07. April 2022

Für alle, die es leider nicht zur Infoveranstaltung vom 7. April 2022 geschafft haben: Es gibt einen Video-Mitschnitt der Veranstaltung, der bei YouTube verfügbar ist.

Informationsveranstaltung Masterstudiengang "Digital Sciences" am 07. April 2022 für nationale und internationale Studienbewerber

Der Masterstudiengang Digital Sciences an der TH Köln bietet ein vielfältiges Studienangebot in den Disziplinen Informatik, Informationswissenschaft und Data Science. Es bietet ein flexibles und hochgradig anpassbares Programm in drei oder vier Semestern, je nach den Voraussetzungen des Studenten. Am 7. April 2022 um 16:00 Uhr findet dazu eine Informationsveranstaltung über Zoom statt: https://th-koeln.zoom.us/j/3741374320, Meeting-ID: 374 137 4320, Passwort: 4711. Mehr Informationen zu diesem Event finden Sie auf der TH-Köln-Seite, bei LinkedIn oder bei Xing.

Semesterauftakt am 24.03.2022 um 16:00

Am Donnerstag, dem 24.03.2022 von 16:00 bis ca. 17:15 gibt es eine Semesterauftakt-Besprechung als Online-Meeting (Zoom-Link). Eine Anmeldung ist nicht nötig.   ... weiterlesen »

Zeige alle Neuigkeiten »

Kurzbeschreibung des Studiengangs

Der von den Fakultäten für Informatik und Ingenieurwissenschaften, beziehungsweise Informations- und Kommunikationswissenschaften der TH Köln kooperativ angebotene Studiengang Digital Sciences bildet ein vielfältiges Ausbildungsspektrum der Disziplinen Computer Science, Information Science und Data Science in ein flexibles und stark individualisierbares Masterstudium ab (Abschluss Master of Science). Je nach Studienvoraussetzung gelangt man in drei oder vier Semestern zum Abschluss.

Das Masterprogramm richtet sich an Studierende, die auf einem abgeschlossenes Bachelor-Studium aus einer der o.g. Disziplinen (z.B. Informatik, Wirtschaftsinformatik, Medieninformatik, IT-Management, Code & Context, Data and Information Science, etc.) aufbauen möchten. Es ist so konzipiert, dass es auf individuelle Ziele der Studierenden eingeht, zugeschnittene personalisierte Lernpfade unterstützt und Raum für interdisziplinäre und agile Lernvorhaben sowie für entsprechende didaktisch-methodische Ansätze über Fach- und Fakultätsgrenzen hinweg schafft. Große Anteile des Studiengangs können aufgrund eines breiten englischsprachigen Modulangebots in Englisch absolviert werden. Auf diese Weise wird der Studiengang für internationale Studierende geöffnet.

Das aktuelle Modulhandbuch (als PDF-Version) kann hier heruntergeladen werden. Einzelheiten finden Sie auch auf den Webseiten der TH Köln unter https://th-koeln.de/studium/digital-sciences-master_83002.php.

Vier Studienrichtungen

Der Studiengang Digital Sciences wird kooperativ von der Fakultät für “Informatik und Ingenieurwissenschaften” (F10) und der Fakultät für “Informations- und Kommunikationswissenschaften” (F03) angeboten und international, seminaristisch und stark projektorientiert. Der Masterstudiengang beinhaltet vier Studienrichtungen.

Absolvent*innen des Studiengangs Digital Sciences sind qualifiziert für Leitungs- und Führungsaufgaben an der Schnittstelle zwischen Technologie und Anwendung. Bezogen auf die Studienrichtungen sind dies die nachfolgenden Schwerpunkte.

Business Information Systems (BIS)

Die Studienrichtung bereitet Studierende auf die Übernahme von Brückenfunktionen an der Nahtstelle zwischen Wirtschaft und Informationstechnologie vor. Dies beinhaltet insbesondere die zu entwickelnde Fähigkeit, auf der Basis eines tiefen Grundverständnisses der Geschäftstätigkeiten eines Unternehmens wirtschaftliche Handlungsfelder zu durchdringen und Anforderungen an die IT sowie Potentiale der Digitalisierung abzuleiten, um durch deren Umsetzung zum Unternehmenserfolg beizutragen.

Eine detaillierte Beschreibung der Studienrichtung finden Sie unter der URL https://digital-sciences.de/studyprograms/business-information-systems/.

Data and Information Science (DIS)

Die Studienrichtung hat die Generierung und Verfügbarmachung von Wissen zum Ziel, das aus Daten und Informationen gewonnen wird. Absolvent*innen arbeiten in Unternehmen, die stark von der Generierung von unternehmensrelevantem Wissen, z.B. aus Web-Daten, abhängen, bspw. digitalen Informationsplattformen, Online-Händler, sozialen Netzwerken, Online-Medien, etc. Auch ein Einsatz in der Forschung oder in den Einrichtungen der Forschungsinfrastrukturen (z.B. wissenschaftliche Bibliotheken, Leibniz-Institute, etc.) ist durch den hohen Anteil an forschungszentrierten Modulen denkbar.

Eine detaillierte Beschreibung der Studienrichtung finden Sie unter der URL https://digital-sciences.de/studyprograms/data-and-information-science/.

IT Management (ITM)

Die Studienrichtung setzt auf breites Wissen und Können im operativen IT-Management auf und stellt das strategische IT-Management in den Vordergrund. Aus dieser Perspektive werden die Aufgabenbereiche Aufbau, Betrieb und die Weiterentwicklung von IT betrachtet. Dabei sind Effektivität, Effizienz und Sicherheit einerseits sowie die anforderungsgerechte Gestaltung der IT und die Unterstützung der digitalen Transformation stets im Blickfeld. Auch die Fähigkeit zur Erkundung neuer IT-Einsatzszenarien und Technologien sowie zur Übernahme von Führungs- und Budgetverantwortung gehören dazu.

Eine detaillierte Beschreibung der Studienrichtung finden Sie unter der URL https://digital-sciences.de/studyprograms/it-management/.

Software Architecture (SAR)

Die Studienrichtung vermittelt eine auf große und komplexe Systeme ausgerichtete Softwaretechnik, die IT als soziotechnisches System begreift und bei der Erstellung von Softwaresystemen den Menschen und seine Denk- und Handlungsweisen besonders berücksichtigt. Sie reflektiert die wachsende Bedeutung von Software für innovative digitale Produkte und Dienstleistungen in unserer Gesellschaft, indem sie Absolvent*innen befähigt, komplexe Softwaresysteme im Kontext sozialer, technologischer und wirtschaftlicher Rahmenbedingungen zu konzipieren und umzusetzen.

Eine detaillierte Beschreibung der Studienrichtung finden Sie unter der URL https://digital-sciences.de/studyprograms/software-architecture/.

Sechs Handlungsfelder

Als integratives Rahmenwerk dienen sechs Handlungsfelder, die den Perspektiven Technologie, Anwendung und gesellschaftlich-kulturelle Auswirkung gemäß wie folgt definiert werden: